Friends

“In everyone’s life, at some time, our inner fire goes out. It is then burst into flame by an encounter with another human being. We should all be thankful for those people who rekindle the inner spirit.” – Albert Schweitzer (1875-1965), Nobel Laureate

It is supremely important, every so often, to acknowledge the people who make our lives beautiful. I have said more times than I can remember that I have, hands down, THE best friends in the entire world. I was recently made aware of this truth once again when a great guy I was dating broke up with me, and I called a friend the following day, obviously upset. After hearing me out, she said, “Well, he just passed up one of the best opportunities of his life.” The accuracy and objectivity of this assertion notwithstanding, I was (and continue to be) deeply grateful to her for perceiving my need to feel validated at a time of self-doubt and for gratifying that need so effortlessly. And that’s probably one of the nicest things anyone has ever said to me.

I’ve always wanted to publicly thank my friends for being so great, kind of a shout-it-from-the-rooftops type of thing, but not having the means to do so, I never did. Now that I do,  I’d like to publicly acknowledge and thank the friends who are always there for me and who are always willing to hear me out, the friends who make me laugh, the friends who always love to hear from me, the friends who are ever supportive and encouraging of me and all that I do, the friends who make me feel so very important, and valued, and wise when they ask for my advice, the friends who call or text with absolutely nothing to say other than that they missed me and wanted to talk to me, the friends who enrich my life immeasurably by simply being a part of it, the friends who “rekindle the inner spirit” when the flame goes out . . .

If you’re my friend and you’re reading this post, you are probably one of the people who inspired it. For that and for everything else, I am profoundly grateful.

Thanks.

One comment on “Friends

  1. Agreed!
    Friends are so important and so vital. I don’t know what i would do without mine.

Leave a Reply

